AMPCo Board


AMPCo Board

Mr Damian Smith


Mr Damian Smith is the current Chair of the Board of AMPCo. He joined the Board of AMPCo as an independent non-executive director of AMPCo in August 2017. Mr Smith works as a strategy & operations consultant for several technology and digital media businesses. Mr Smith is an experienced digital media and technology executive, having been Chief Executive Officer of NASDAQ-listed LookSmart, as well as CEO of RateCity, and more recently Essential Media, a leading public affairs and research consultancy. He has also led digital media at Network TEN, was interim CEO and a non-executive Director at Nuix (a leading Australian forensic software business), and was part of the initial team at Telstra Ventures. Mr Smith holds a Masters in Public Policy from Harvard University, and a Bachelor of Arts from the University of Sydney, and is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.


Dr Gary Speck AM


Dr Gary Speck joined the board of AMPCo in July 2018. Dr Speck is also a director of AMA Ltd and chairs the investment committee. He is a practising orthopaedic surgeon with appointments in a public hospital and a busy private practice, with active involvement in teaching at postgraduate level and is Deputy Chair of the R.A.C.S. medicolegal section. He has been active in professional associations with executive and leadership roles with the AMA, RACS, Australian Orthopaedic Association, Council of Procedural Specialists and the Spine Society of Australia. Dr Speck is a peer reviewer for SICOT(Societe Internationale de Chirurgie Orthoppedique et de Traumatologie) since 2007, and a regular contributor to international meetings. Dr Speck has undertaken regular and advanced courses with the AICD gaining a GAICD. From July 2016 he has chaired Medical Indemnity Protection Society (MIPS) and is a director of MIPS insurance Ltd. In 2012 he was a foundation member of the Health Innovation and Reform Council, Department of Health (Government of Victoria), 2012-2015; Chair of the Standing Committee on Health Quality, Safety and Outcomes, 2012-2015, advising David Davis the Health Minister and achieving changes in pay for performance and unplanned readmissions. Most recently he chaired a panel responsible for the introduction of a Victorian legislated new assessment system for traffic injury spinal impairment in 2016.


Prof Jeanette Ward


Appointed to the Board in November 2019, Jeanette brings a deep understanding of the Australian health system, having worked in diverse roles in many settings including private consultancy, executive public service and academia.  Widely recognised for her expertise as a public health physician and health leader in evidence-based policy and practice, her commitment to data-driven decisions and accountable health management is lifelong.  Based in the Kimberley with its unique Aboriginal, multicultural and entrepreneurial profile, Jeanette has an insightful appreciation of Australia’s national and international opportunities. She joins the AMPCo Board at a crucial time as AMPCo continues to expand its vision and develop innovative platforms for medical communications and data products.  She is also a dedicated champion for the Medical Journal of Australia as our premier peer-reviewed general medical publication at the cutting edge of high-impact scientific publishing, connecting its readers to incisive and distinctive content that builds new knowledge and understanding beyond the confines of narrow speciality silos.


Ms Petra Buchanan


Ms Petra Buchanan is an independent non-executive director of the AMPCo Board. Ms Buchanan is a business leader with a history of Chief Executive and C-Suite roles across commercial and not-for-profit sectors in Australia and internationally. Some of her roles include former Chief Executive Officer of the McGrath Foundation, and CEO of industry body ASTRA, co-founder of digital start-up TuShare and an executive with Unisys in Asia Pacific and the Discovery Channel internationally. Ms Buchanan was named as one of the Australian Financial Review’s 100 Women of Influence and was awarded the B&T Women in Media Award for Mentoring. She inspires individuals and organisations to excel and is a passionate advocate for leadership and management excellence. She holds a Bachelor of Arts degree from the University of California, Riverside, USA, in political science with minors in journalism and ethnic studies and is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.